Chelsea crowned team of the year at Ballon d’Or ceremony after UCL triumph.

Chidalu Obiajulu

The West London club, Chelsea football club were announced as the inaugural winner of the Club of the Year 2021 award at the Ballon d’Or ceremony on Monday night in Paris.

This has been one of the best years for Chelsea football club in following both success on and off the field for both the Men’s and Women’s teams. Success for the Academy, Women’s and Men’s team sees the Blues collect the inaugural award at the Ballon d’Or ceremony.

The award is given with the criteria of both the Men and women football team – which came at the end of a fantastic season for the club.

After the appointment of Thomas Tuchel, who replaced Frank Lampard in January in the dugout at Stamford Bridge, the Blues reached the FA Cup final and lost to Leicester City and won the Champions League by beating Manchester City in the finals in Porto.

Chelsea won the European Super Cup against Villarreal in August and are currently first in the Premier League, one point clear of City.

Meanwhile , Chelsea Women football team won a second consecutive Women Super League title – their third in four seasons – and successfully defended the League Cup they had won in 2020.

Emma Hayes’s team should have won the famous treble, but lost to FC Barcelona women in the champions league final.

“It’s a nice trophy because it’s for the club,” Tuchel said in a video message from London.

“It’s something good that we have a very successful women’s team and academy. We’re happy to have this award. We had a lot of players nominated.”

Spanish and Chelsea captain, Azpilicueta added: “We’d like to be there with you. Unfortunately we couldn’t come. I’m really proud of this moment, this award.”

Chelsea women coach, Emma Hayes, who attended the ceremony in person, said she hoped the players will be able to be present at next year’s extravaganza – this week marks the international break for women’s football.

Both individually and collectively, it was a great night for the European champions.

Jorginho Frello, Italian and Chelsea midfielder finished third overall in the men’s rankings behind Lionel Messi, who won the award for a record seventh time, and Robert Lewandowski, while Ngolo Kante of both Chelsea and France finished fifth.

Chelsea, Senegalese goalkeeper, Edouard Mendy, meanwhile, was runner-up to Italy’s Gianluigi Donnarumma in the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper and Sam Kerr the Australian and Chelsea women striker finished third in the women’s Ballon d’Or rankings.